Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Professor Teresa Lambe OBE, Professor Julian Knight & Professor Jane McKeating have been elected as Fellows of the Academy of Medical Sciences, one of the most prestigious awards in the field.


The new Fellows have been elected to the Academy in recognition of their exceptional contributions to the advancement of biomedical and health science, cutting edge research discoveries, and translating developments into benefits for patients and wider society.

This year Fellows were chosen from 365 candidates and will be formally admitted to the Academy at a ceremony on Wednesday 18 September 2024. Of the 58 Fellows, three are from the CAMS Oxford Institute:

Professor Julian Knight FMedSci, Professor of Genomic Medicine and Deputy Director of the Centre for Human Genetics, Honorary Consultant Physician, Tutor and Fellow at Merton College, Director of the Medical Sciences Division Graduate School, Genomic Medicine Theme Lead at the NIHR Oxford Biomedical Research Centre, CAMS Oxford Institute Principal Investigator and Research Director of the Central and South NHS Genomic Medicine Service Alliance.

Professor Jane McKeating FMedSci, Professor of Molecular Virology at the Nuffield Department of Medicine and CAMS Oxford Institute Principal Investigator.

Prof McKeating said: ‘I am delighted to be nominated and for our research to be recognised! A big thanks to current and ex-team members who have made scientific discovery a joy.’

Professor Teresa Lambe FMedSci, Calleva Head of Immunology at the Oxford Vaccine Group, and Principal Investigator at the Pandemic Sciences Institute & CAMS Oxford Institute has also been awarded in recognition of her unique contributions to understanding human health and controlling disease through vaccination.

Professor Lambe said: "It is a huge honour to be elected as a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Medical Sciences. I have been fortunate to work with incredibly talented colleagues over the course of my career both in the UK and worldwide, and I’m incredibly proud that this work has been recognised.”

Professor Andrew Morris PMedSci, President of the Academy of Medical Sciences, said: “It is an honour to welcome these brilliant minds to our Fellowship. Our new Fellows lead pioneering work in biomedical research and are driving remarkable improvements in healthcare. We look forward to working with them, and learning from them, in our quest to foster an open and progressive research environment that improves the health of people everywhere through excellence in medical science.”

The new Fellows will be formally admitted to the Academy at a ceremony on Wednesday 18 September 2024.

The Academy of Medical Sciences is the independent, expert body representing the diversity of medical science in the UK. Its mission is to advance biomedical and health research and its translation into benefits for society. The Academy's elected Fellows are the most influential scientists in the UK and worldwide, drawn from the NHS, academia, industry and the public service.