Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.
Skip to main content

Projects for 2020 entry

iconapply.gif

Full details of the projects for 2020 entry are now available to download

Summary of projects and aligned DPhil programmes:

 1. Understanding the cellular heterogenoty of vaccine induced T cell responses in the liver in order to develop new Immunotherapeutic strategies against hepatitis B virus infection

Supervisor: Professor Ellie Barnes - ellie.barnes@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Apply to: DPhil in Clinical Medicine

 

2. Creating biochemical and cellular models of N-glycosylation diseases

Supervisor: Dr Yin Yao Dong - yin.dong@ndcn.ox.ac.uk

 

3-1. The role of zinc in immune function

Supervisor: Professor Richard Cornall - richard.cornall@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Apply to: DPhil in Clinical Medicine

 

3-2. B cell activation and selection

Supervisor: Professor Richard Cornall - richard.cornall@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Apply to: DPhil in Clinical Medicine

 

4. Structural and functional characterisation of the influenza virus nuclear export machinery

Supervisor: Professor Ervin Fodor - ervin.fodor@path.ox.ac.uk

Apply to: DPhil in Molecular Cell Biology in Health and Disease

 

5. Genomics of host susceptibility to severe infection

Supervisor: Professor Julian Knight - julian@well.ox.ac.uk

Apply to: DPhil in Clinical Medicine

 

6. Measuring lung inhomogeneity using a novel non-invasive technique to phenotype airways diseases

Supervisor: Professor Ian Pavord - ian.pavord@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Apply to: DPhil in Clinical Medicine

 

7. Defining the relationship between DNA repair deficiency, STING and ENPP1

Supervisor: Dr Eileen Parkes – Eileen.parkes@oncology.ox.ac.uk

Apply to: DPhil in Oncology

 

8-1. Characterising the spatial relationships of the immune infiltrate in pancreatic cancer

Supervisor: Professor Mark Middleton - mark.middleton@oncology.ox.ac.uk

Apply to: DPhil in Oncology

 

8-2. Describing peripheral T cell responses to immunotherapy

Supervisor: Professor Mark Middleton - mark.middleton@oncology.ox.ac.uk

Apply to: DPhil in Oncology

 

9. Understanding host pathways that regulate hepatitis B virus to design new curative strategies

Supervisor: Professor Jane McKeating - jane.mckeating@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Apply to: DPhil in Clinical Medicine

 

10. Modelling vaccine hesitancy and strategies to address it

Supervisor: Professor Lisa White - lisa.white@ndm.ox.ac.uk

 Apply to: DPhil in Clinical Medicine

 

11. Mechanical guidance of anti-tumour responses of metabolically energetic T cells

Supervisor: Dr Marco Fritzsche - marco.fritzsche@kennedy.ox.ac.uk

 

12. Understanding how epigenetic marks are established

Supervisor: Professor Richard Gibbons - richard.gibbons@imm.ox.ac.uk

 Apply to: DPhil in Medical Sciences

 

13. Role of lipid-specific T cells in human inflammation and translational development of new therapies to treat inflammatory disease

Supervisor: Professor Graham Ogg - Graham.ogg@ndm.ox.ac.uk

 Apply to: DPhil in Medical Sciences

 

14. Exploring the basis of cardiac remodelling in hypertrophic cardiomyopathy: the role of the immune system

Supervisor:  Professor Hugh Watkins - hugh.watkins@rdm.ox.ac.uk

 Apply to: DPhil in Medical Sciences

 

15. Modelling of non-typeable haemophilus influenzae / rhinovirus interactions in lower airways inflammation in mouse and human

Supervisor:  Dr Timothy SC Hinks - timothy.hinks@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Apply to: DPhil in Clinical Medicine

 

16. Personalised immunotherapy treatment to manage malignant pleural effusion progression (the TAILOR study)

Supervisor:  Professor Najib Rahman - najib.rahman@ndm.ox.ac.uk

 Apply to: DPhil in Clinical Medicine

 

17.  Identification of key determinants affecting the quality of human Cancer specific cytotoxic T cells

Supervisor:  Professor Tao Dong - tao.dong@imm.ox.ac.uk

 Apply to: DPhil in Clinical Medicine

 

18. Development of a universal vaccine protecting from dengue and zika viruses infection

Supervisor: Professor Gavin Screaton - gavin.screaton@medsci.ox.ac.uk

Apply to: DPhil in Clinical Medicine

 

19. Study of broadly protective human monoclonal antibodies to influenza neuraminidases

Supervisor: Professor Alain Townsend - alain.townsend@imm.ox.ac.uk

 Apply to: DPhil in Medical Sciences

 

20. Molecular basis of moonlighting enzymes – the Swiss army knives in a cell

Supervisor: Professor Wyatt Yue – wyatt.yue@sgc.ox.ac.uk

Apply to: DPhil in Clinical Medicine

 

21. How is alpha thalassaemia acquired in the context of myelodysplasia

Supervisor: Professor Doug Higgs – doug.higgs@imm.ox.ac.uk

 Apply to: DPhil in Medical Sciences